How can I use OBS virtual cam (with plugin) in bigbluebutton?

dolph_i

Hi all,
I am not sure, if I am in the right spot here?!
Since I am pretty new to OBS studio and this is my first thread, I am not that familiar with everything.
Here is my issue...
I tried to use the Virtual Webcam Plugin in Adobe Connect and BigBlueButton. Adobe Connect worked quite well. I had set up a live scene using the croma key filter and had selected the OBS Camera, which was given as one of the webcams, as I had expected.
But, when I was trying to use it in BigBlueButton, the OBS Camera didn't appear. I just got my hw-webcams, but no virtual cam to choose from.
Does anybody has an idea, what I need to do to get the virtual OBS Camera selectable in BigBlueButton?
Thanks in advance.
cheers
dolph

ChristianS

Hi Dolph_i,

I use BigBlueButton integrated in Moodle, on my Mac. I noticed OBS Virtual Cam does not appear while using Safari, but works well with Chrome.

HTH.
PS: Since I also insert Safari captures in my scenes, I finally find it convenient to use two different browsers: this separates better the program composition side and the conference side.
PPS: Oh, and BTW, I find it important to start your workflow FROM the video conferencing tool, then define a consistent OBS "Profile", and then start to compose scenes. This ensures you have all the right resolutions/size, while starting composing the scenes, and then going back to the upper level can lead to inconsistancies.

As I am a beginner too, I fought with this quite a lot while deciding to switch from Zoom to BBB...

Last edited:

Klaus Becker

Hi,

on my Macbook pro 15" 2013 the OBS logo and video is scrambled, when I select the virtual cam in BBB. See attached picture.
Everything works fine in MS Teams.
I tried Chrome and Firefox. During testing i was working once, when I tested with chrome the first time.
I deleted the cam driver in terminal and reinstalled it, but no way to get it work again.