Question / Help Can I run a live video feed, and a recorded video as a backdrop (occasionally) simultaneously?

REricB

I'm a musician, and I want to post a Facebook Live performance while running video images occasionally, at the same time. In other words, I want to have a video of me playing and singing, and occasionally have video clips appear.

Is this possible? If so, then how can I do it? I'm a novice OBS studio user.

Thanks for your help!
Eric

koala

This is certainly possible. It's one of the use cases OBS is designed for.
You create multiple scenes. One scene you design with a camera source that shows yourself playing and singing. Other scene(s) with media sources showing the video clips you want to show. Then hire someone who switches between the scenes. Or do the switching yourself, perhaps with some kind of switchboard or foot pad to enable yourself to switch without showing you using a computer keyboard. As far as I remember, there is also a plugin for OBS, the "advanced scene switcher", that will switch between scenes automatically on a timer.

REricB

Thank you koala!! I've downloaded the advanced scene switcher plug-in, but I haven't had much time to figure out how to use it. Your reply here is very helpful in moving me along toward success! Thanks again!
- Eric

koala

The advanced scene switcher is very complex. It's declarative configuration may not seem very intuitive. You might look at the "Scene Squence", "Pause" and "Random" tabs, but don't hesitate to look into everywhere.
But I suggest you don't start with the switching. Instead start with designing your scenes and see how it looks if you switch manually. Only if this fits your needs introduce automatic switching.

REricB

Thanks again for your help!! I'm working now on learning how to manually switch scenes; I'm pretty sure I know how to do that now. That's a piece of very good advice to start with switching scenes manually. Thank you!

REricB