build with JACK on Windows + macOS; use vcpkg?

Be.

Hi OBS developers,
I am a developer of Mixxx as well as Tenacity. Both of these applications use the PortAudio cross platform audio I/O library. I recently rewrote PortAudio's CMake build system. As part of that, I got PortAudio to build with JACK support on macOS. I got it building on Windows too although I have not gotten it working in Mixxx yet.

This got me thinking what would be useful to connect to Mixxx via JACK on Windows and macOS and my first thought was OBS. Users on both our forums have asked for this unfortunately with no response:

So I took a look at how you build OBS and unfortunately it does not look like you build with JACK support on macOS or Windows. For applications to support JACK on these operating systems is a bit different than Linux. On Linux, the JACK library is generally installed from the system package manager and applications can directly link to it. But on Windows and macOS, the JACK server and library are installed separate from the OS so applications don't link to it directly; rather, applications use a shim that dynamically loads the real JACK library and forwards API calls. Refer to this discussion for more details.

The other issue is that building OBS' dependencies on Windows and macOS looks really cumbersome to maintain. I found the obs-deps repository and it looks like you use a giant GitHub Actions workflow file manually building every dependency for macOS. It might not be a ton of work to add a new dependency to that; I'm not sure. For Windows, I see on the build instructions you tell developers to download some prebuilt dependencies, but I can't find any information about how those builds are made. Did someone just build them locally once and put them on your server?