Blackmagic atem mini and OBS

JazzKitten

Hi folks
I'm a relative newbie and I have so far produced one live streamed concert featuring my husband playing solo guitar, for which I had 2 cameras connected via HDMI video capture USB dongles, one connected via USB as a webcam, and I also used the webcam on my laptop.
It went well, although some viewers said the video did judder occasionally, it was watchable, and the sound quality was flawless, as we used a SubZero audio interface. The connection we had for this was a fast DSL and, yes, I was connected via ethernet not wifi. Since then we have upgraded to the fastest cable which is capable of downloading 120 mbps and uploading 20mbps. I've read the advice about resolution, frame rate, upload speed etc. here.

Today I attempted a test live stream and I don't think the quality was any better, which is disappointing as I was expecting the cable to be much better. On YouTube I was still getting the message that I wasn't sending enough video to YouTube so my viewers would have buffers, although my Android tablet connected to wifi seemed not to judder at all, so I don't understand why, but there you are! I've read as many tutorials and the excellent advice on this website as I can, up to press.

So I am now investigating the Blackmagic atem mini. I didn't want to have to buy another piece of kit when I thought OBS would do it, but a colleague of mine said that OBS was 'notorious for dropping frames' and that I should invest in something hardware instead. Then I read that people were using this kit with OBS and now I am confused. If OBS can handle the multi camera angles why do I need a piece of kit, and conversely, if this piece of kit handles the camera angles, why do I need OBS?