Best hardware for non-gaming streaming and recording?

angelleye

I have a Surface Book 3. I love it in general, but it's not holding up well with video streaming/recording/editing. It's quirky with the separate graphics, and the CPU throttling is an issue.

I'm looking to replace it with a desktop, but I'm not a gamer, and everything seems to be geared towards that. Do I need a crazy graphics card, or should I go more for CPU?

I am a coder, and I manage coding teams, so I'm doing a lot of general stuff that pretty much any modern computer can handle for the most part. When I'm recording it will be multi-camera, face only with green screen backgrounds, display captures, etc. Everything but gaming, really.

What would be the best setup for this with a budget of up to $4k?

Any information on this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

qhobbes

Do you already have the cameras and capture cards/devices or do those need to be included in the $4k?

angelleye

Here's one config I'm looking at. Thoughts?

XorbRs.jpg

Lawrence_SoCal

Realize that $4K for a non-gaming streaming PC is way overkill for streaming itself.