Question / Help Audio Stuttering whilst Streaming

ObiWanKenOBS

Hi,

I'm a bit new to this and am having problems with stuttering audio whilst streaming from OBS.

My source is a gaming stream going into OBS that's being streamed to me from a friend in Germany, then I'm adding commentary and streaming out to Twitch.

Often whilst streaming, the audio I get from him is fine for the first few hours but then starts breaking up and gets progressively more stuttery and jumpy until it's completely garbled. After it has begun, this deterioration happens over only a few minutes.

The start of the audio breaking up is often (but not always) accompanied by "adding X milliseconds of audio buffering, total audio buffering is now Y milliseconds" etc messages.

The issue seems to be resolved by reconnecting the source but this doesn't explain why the problem is happening in the first place.

I'm running OBS v0.16.2 on Linux (system info below).

Cinnamon Version : 3.2.7
Linux Kernel 4.4.0-53-generic
Processor : Intel© Xeon© CPU E5-2630 v3 © 2.40GHz × 8
Memory : 31.3 GiB
Hard Drive : 82.3 GiB
Graphics Card : NVIDIA Corporation GM204 [GeForce GTX 970]
Graphics Card : ASPEED Technology, Inc. ASPEED Graphics Family

Any ideas about what might be causing the problem and is anyone else experiencing the same?

Thanks.

Last edited:

Therealbeef

@ObiWanKenOBS
What is the resolution of the feed coming in? Also, are you receiving multiple feeds?
Please see this clip, does your audio stutter like this? https://clips.twitch.tv/KathishGoldenHummingbirdMau5

What I found to be the problem was I was getting too many high resolution feeds into OBS at one time. It was processing 3 separate 1080p feeds which were being shrunk down. The solution was to have the originating feeds lower their resolution a bit (I think to 720 worked). Here it is working later in the stream - https://clips.twitch.tv/SeductiveScrumptiousSpaghettiPeanutButterJellyTime

ObiWanKenOBS