Why are audio recordings are clipping? (below 0dB!)

Barbarella

@Jim / Developers

First of all, OBS is just awesome. But there is one single thing that have to be improved: Audio Input handling and we need a "Master audio meter" asap, so we can see the final mix levels that goes out. I'm a professional voice-artist and also a sound engineer being in the business for over 20 years now. My studio includes a SSL Mixing Console, Neumann U87 microphone, Avalon Compressors and many synthesizers like MOOG, you name it. I'm telling you this so that you know I'm not an amateur. I can help you because I have state-of-the-art gear and tools. Please take a look at this screen: https://imgur.com/a/EIjdi
What you see are two recordings. Directly with my DAW and the second is recorded via OBS. They have the exact same volume levels and still 1dB headroom. The DAW recording sounds perfect without any clipping. The recording with OBS have clippings and this must be fixed ASAP. How can OBS create clippings when the audio meters are way unter 0dB as you can see in the screenshot? I did NOT use a filter to raise the volume by the way. Position was default at 0dB. The problem is not at my end, I've talked with other OBS users and they also got clippings when they're reaching the "red zone". This is nonsense, there is no need to make the areas red (AND CLIP!) because the signal is WAY under 0dB. In my entire life working with so many tools I've never encountered such thing that a signal below 0dB get clippings. I want to work with studio levels and not being forced to record audio at -10 or-20 dB. I have to normalize them which is stupid. So please, let the audio input come in untouched until it really goes over 0dB. Keep up the great work! Thanks and cheers.

Reactions: axd

Barbarella