Question / Help Which capture cards for surround sound recording

TO4DM4N

I've been doing quite a bit of digging, and from what I have read, it seems that my Magewell Pro Capture HDMI card will not allow me to capture surround sound (5.1/7.1) with the latest OBS release and this new feature. I have only seen a few comments on this topic, so my questions:
  1. Is this an accurate statement, that the Magewell card is not supported in OBS for surround sound recording? Seems like Magewell is skimping on driver support for DirectShow and only enabling recording through their SDK? As a few others have confirmed, the card does support 8 channels and I have verified this. But the software is not showing the channels in the mixer.
  2. If correct, which cards are supported by OBS to take advantage of the new surround sound functionality? I'm fairly new to this tech, so open to any suggestions. The only card that seems to support this is the Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4k - and then only at 5.1?
Thanks to all!

Todd

Don't get me wrong, but why do you want to stream with 5.1 surround sound? Imho only a handful of users have a 5.1 surround system. It's like streaming in 4k. Some could do it, but nobody can watch it in this quality (unless they have a 4k Monitor of course).

TO4DM4N

Sorry, should have been more clear in my post. I’m looking to record in surround sound, minimal streaming and when I do it would be in stereo.

Boildown

I don't have a Magewell or a Blackmagic, but generally speaking it'll work with OBS if its done in DirectShow, it won't if it isn't. The other possibility is someone writes a plugin for a particular vender's SDK/API.

What I do is send my audio separately via a sound card's inputs in my encoding PC (Sound Blaster X-Fi). I haven't attempted to record surround on it though, but it seems like I probably could, as it has an optical input that is capable of it.

TO4DM4N