Question / Help Unstable Twitch Connection Only Using OBS

Neiyoh

About 2 weeks ago, with no setting changes at all, OBS decided that it was going to give me an unstable stream connection to Twitch. It is not my provider, bandwidth, bitrate, framerate, router, or drivers. I had been using OBS off and on for the last 2 years, and have never encountered this problem. I switched to XSplit for a while to test it out, and had 0 problems during their free trial period.

The connection to Twitch in Twitch Inspector registers as unstable after the first 5 seconds of streaming. Switching stream servers changes nothing, and doing a connection test to the Twitch servers comes up as a perfect connection.

I have tried bitrates ranging from 500 to 6000. There is no difference in stability.

I have tried resolutions from 540p to 4k. There is no difference.

I have attempted uninstalling/reinstalling OBS, using the Streamlabs OBS, reverting my PC to before the issue occured. Nothing.

Narcogen

Have you tested a different program, like XSplit or GameShow?

You say it's OBS but this honestly does sound like a provider issue. If it affects the other software as well, it might be. If it doesn't, then perhaps it's OBS.

A logfile might help.

Might also be worth it to either create a different user account and start with a fresh OBS profile and scene collection to see if there are any issues there.

Neiyoh

Both XSplit and Gameshow work perfectly fine. No issues. I have tried uninstalling and removing all user settings on OBS and installing a fresh install. Nothing.

I've included two images from Twitch Inspector.

One is a 4 hour long stream from 2 days ago using XSplit that ran perfectly smooth the entire time with 0 issues.

The other is a 5 minute test that I ran with OBS today. As you can see it becomes unstable after about 5 seconds, even though the bitrate is consistently sitting at 2000.
4h xsplit.png
5m obs test.png

Osiris