Question / Help Streaming with overlays whilst recording without them?

Duelsy

Hi,

I’m a relatively new content creator who streams and creates YouTube videos. I currentlyuse a single PC setup. I've been using Streamlabs for the last 4 months because it has features like “selective recording”, allowing me to stream with a web cam and alerts etc but record without them showing i.e. "clean footage". However when using the NVENC (new) their software doesn't allow me to rescale for my stream, so I have to scale down in my video settings (rather than my output). This means I get sub-par footage which I can’t use. Therefore I'm looking to move over to OBS, as you can set separate resolutions for everything. I've been messing around with stuff today and OBS seems to run better whilst consuming less resources which is good.

Is there a way in OBS to stream with overlays but record a clean scene without them for YouTube (i.e. just the game capture)? If there isn't an option for this what's the best solution, simply to run two instances of OBS?

Just for additional info - I've been using NVENC (new) for both recording and streaming. I notice my GPU shows 100% usage in task task manager when doing this, although I don't get any skipped frames etc. I've also been experimenting with recording using NVENC (new) whilst streaming using x264 on fast or medium. In my setup I personally believe my CPU is going to be the bottleneck.

PC specs below so everyone knows what I’m working with. Also please note I run OBS in admin mode.

PC specs:
GPU - RTX 2080Ti
CPU - i7-8700K running at 5.1Ghz
RAM - 32GB Corsair Dominator
Gaming monitor resolution - 1440P

If you need any more info or some screenshots etc please let me know.

Thanks for your help.

FerretBomb