Question / Help Static on top of any audio when streaming/previewing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Senkwich

This is my first time attempting to stream content; so, I tried to follow Twitch's guide for OBS. After setting everything up for the first time, I tried streaming Teleglitch (a favorite of mine). I was met with a really jarring static sound that played on top of any audio coming from the game. For example, when I used my knife and heard the knife sound effect, I also heard very large static (similar to a radio) on top of that audio. My source was the Teleglitch application.

I then tried a different game that I was able to visually see by using a monitor as a source. The game in question was Risk of Rain (another rapid favorite). Like Teleglitch, the video was fine, but the audio had a loud static on top of the actual game's audio.

I then tested this on a youtube video. I began playing the video and as soon as I hit "preview stream," the person speaking in the video had a loud, jarring static on top of his voice as he spoke (matching a radio's static on a broadcaster or song).

Finally, I played the classic Windows error sound played in situations such as clicking outside of a window that has full control and must be closed before clicking elsewhere. After clicking "preview stream," the Windows sound effect had static on top of it.

I'm not sure if there is somewhere that I am supposed to disable audio feedback or something else interfering with my headphones, which are plugged into my MXL USB 009 microphone. This also happens when I start the stream normally instead of a preview.

The log is from my Windows audio issue. Note that closing the tab containing the Youtube video or game with the audio issue and stopping the stream will restore the audio for that application.

Attachments

• 2014-01-13-0144-32.log
    8.7 KB · Views: 1,345

Lain

Forum Admin
Lain
Forum Moderator
Developer