Question / Help Recommended PC setup for streaming

100yengamer

Hello, I am newbie here and was hoping veterans here can recommend good setup

I would like to stream my video game play from Xbox360.
I own Elgato game capture HD and would like to use that to stream live to youtube.

I am going to build a dedicated stream PC and below are the hardware I am thinking of purchasing

MotherBoard: ASUS P8Z77-M LGA 1155
CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K Quad-Core Processor 3.5 GHz
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1600 MHz
Graphic Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 650 Ti
Capture Card: AVerMedia C985 Live Gamer HD

If needed, I am thinking of buying capture card, however I read some thread that Elgato works fine with OBS.
Also wondering if it is necessary to have good GPU if I am only going to stream console games,,,I am not sure.

I would like to stream 720P, my current internet speed is 30MB down and 5MB up, will I be able to achive what I want with
these setup?

Please advise.

NewKID

you wont need a strong gpu unless you want to take advantage of the CUDA cores. imo is not worth the extra money. a gpu wont even be necessary in your build.

Floatingthru

Community Helper
For a dedicated stream pc that one will do 720P@60fps no problem at around 4000 bitrate if you wish to go that high assuming you have a constant 5 megabit upload. I recommend an internal pci-e capture card over any USB one. USB capture devices tend to have an inherent delay and can't do as high a quality capture due to the lack of bandwidth. I personally have a Live Gamer HD and it has always worked swimmingly with OBS. Yes the Elgato works, but you might run into A/V sync issues even though the latest OBS build have more or less squished it if you click the "use buffering" option.