Question / Help Problem w/ sound when capturing with webcam.

Blucatt

Hello all. I'm new to OBS and, of course, new to this forum, so sorry if I've made any rookie mistakes.

I downloaded OBS because I heard it had a webcam overlay function, which I want for the type of video I'm doing. I want to put the webcam recording in the corner of my video while I play through the game, if that makes sense. I fiddled around and looked at the FAQ's to figure out how to work it, and eventually I figured out a way to do it. At first, the recording stopped after a few seconds and it gave me a "High Encoding" warning, but as per the advice of a Youtube video, I fixed that by going into Task Manager and setting OBS and the game to "above average" priority.

After that I figure that everything is fixed, so I go on and record my 1-hour-long first episode of my Let's Play. Once I go on to edit it is when I find out about my problem. When not inside the game, my voice came through clearly, but once I opened up the game, you could barely hear my voice at all. I tried messing around with the equalizer and a couple other things, but I just couldn't get it to sound right. So I was like "Whatever, I didn't get that far in the game anyways", and I was looking to see if I could fix if I recorded again. I tried turning down the volume in the game, but it seems like it lowered the volume of my voice every time I entered the game. So I went downstairs and got my headset that I usually use for audio recordings on my desktop computer and voice chatting with my PS3. I tried using that as the voice recording device instead, but then it ended up sounding echo-y. I tried a bunch more things, including setting the audio for the Video Capture Device to the headset, rather than that of my computer. But everything I tried just created more problems, and eventually I got frustrated and decided to ask about it on the forum the next day, which is now.