Resource icon

Free Linux Distro featuring OBS & Nginx-RTMP 1.2.4

This is a little something I have been working on for the last 6 months or so. I'd like to welcome you to Broadcaster OS!

This distro I put together has some tools I thought might be helpful to your game streamer and streaming for other purposes as well. It still has some bugs I am working out but I thought this might be a good contribution to the community. This distro is Ubuntu base, I will make another that is rpm based in the future.

The following important tools and applications are installed:
-OBS 0.12.2 (from PPA)
-Nginx with RTMP (compiled from source and Aruts RTMP module)
-Hexchat for IRC
-Steam
-Google Chrome (Twitch alerts runs from a *.crx file now)
-FireFox
-Kodi Media Center

The default desktop environment is Cinnamon, with options for XFCE and Kodi.

Keep in mind this is a very rough idea of what I am trying to put together, if you have any suggestions feel free to comment, I am always open to suggestions!

Brodacast-OS 1.2.1 Download
  • Removed XFCE
  • Changed Icon theme (To clean up appearance)
  • Latest update to Ubuntu Base
I forgot to add instructions:

When you boot the live CD, you must login to the Guest Session and go into the menu to install. I am working on getting that fixed hopefully in a later update that will be fixed!

Broadcast-OS 1.2.3
  • Baselined nginx.conf file so it's easier to know where to place rtmp directive
  • Added emulators of various types
Note: I am still waiting on the OBS 0.12.4 commit so there should be a subsequent update afterwards when that happens. I am also looking to get a repo setup so this distro can keep rolling and I want to fork it from ubuntu. When I start getting reviews from this I will being work on the rpm based version of my distro.
Reactions: DarkXoa and DexS
Author
GillyMoMo
Downloads
Views
First release
Last update
Rating
5.00 star(s) 1 ratings

Latest updates

1. Broadcast OS 1.2.4